Staller Center for the Arts

Staller Center for the Arts

Staller Center for the Arts presents music, dance, theatre, film, visual art and more as one of the most comprehensive arts centers on Long Island. Enjoy professional performances from September to May and the Stony Brook Film Festival in July.
Box office is open Mon-Sat, 12 noon to 6 pm. Order tickets online at www.stallercenter.com or call 631-632-ARTS [2787].

Directions

Long Island Museum of American Art, History & Carriages

Long Island Museum of American Art, History & Carriages

The Museum is known for its collection of over 200 carriages and its extensive collection of work by the Hudson River School painter William Sidney Mount and over 4000 other paintings, sculptures and prints. It became a Smithsonian affiliate in 2006.  Main Street at Route 25A. Nine-acre, three-museum complex includes carriage collection, changing art/ history exhibitions. Open year-round, Fri. & Sat., 10 a.m.-5 p.m., and Sun., noon-5 p.m. Open Memorial Day, Labor Day and Columbus Day, 10 a.m. – 5 p.m. Fee. 631-751-0066

Directions

Three Village Inn

Three Village Inn

A fine country inn with luxury rooms and suites located in Stony Brook Village.

Known as the Old Homestead, the original structure of Mirabelle at Three Village Inn was built in 1751 by Richard Hallock.

In 1835, Jonas Smith, one of the country’s most prominent ship owners, purchased Hallock Homestead for use as a summer house. After his death in 1867 the house had a series of owners until 1929 when Mrs. Frank Melville purchased and renovated it for use as a Women’s Exchange.

As people visited the area, she started serving tea, sandwiches, and refreshments. What began as a simple tea room in the 1930’s became a large restaurant with rooms to accommodate overnight guests in 1939. A fine country inn was born, the Three Village Inn.  631-751-0555

Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook

Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook

The Holiday Inn Express features 143 guest rooms, including two- and three-room oversized suites.  3131Nesconset Hwy., Centereach  631-471-8000

Directions

The Ward Melville Heritage Organization Education & Cultural Center

The Ward Melville Heritage Organization Education & Cultural Center

Located in the historic Stony Brook Village Center, The Ward Melville Heritage Organization’s 8800 square-foot Educational and Cultural Center is a year-round facility providing activities, theatrical performances and exhibits. Available for rental. For detailed information call 631-689-5888 

View Upcoming Events

Directions

Hercules Pavillion

Hercules Pavillion

Across Dock Road to the west of the Three Village Inn, along side Stony Brook Harbor, the Hercules Pavilion houses the figurehead and anchor from the U.S.S. Ohio, the first ship launched from the Brooklyn Navy Yard in 1820. The figurehead was carved from a single piece of cedar at a cost of $1,500.

Following the ship’s retirement, it was first sold at a military surplus auction for $10 to the Aldrich family of Aquebogue; then to Miles Carpenter, owner of the Canoe Place Inn in Hampton Bays for $15. Hercules remained at that site for decades. Subsequently the figurehead was acquired by Mr. Melville who deeded it to The Ward Melville Heritage Organization.

Sharing the Hercules Pavilion is the Polaris whaleboat, thought to be the only surviving artifact from the Charles Hall expedition to the Arctic in 1870. Commander Robert Peary recovered the Polaris during his 1905 Arctic expedition and subsequently placed it with the American Museum of Natural History in New York. Some forty years later, naturalist Robert Cushman Murphy who was then a curator at the museum, was instrumental in transferring the Polaris to Ward Melville. It is now a property of The Ward Melville Heritage Organization.

Directions

Erwin J. Ernst Marine Conservation Center

Erwin J. Ernst Marine Conservation Center

Located in the heart of The Ward Melville Heritage Organization’s 88-acre wetlands preserve is the Erwin J. Ernst Marine Conservation Center (EMCC).  Named after Dr. Erwin J. Ernst, the Center has been an important part of WMHO for more than 50 years.

Throughout his career, Dr. Ernst worked to preserve marine life and the environment. His passion was contagious as he taught thousands of students at Southampton College, the New York Aquarium, Ward Melville High School and on-site at WMHO’s Wetlands Preserve.  In fact, many of Ernie’s students changed their career path and went on to careers in marine biology and environmental science.

Dr. Ernst’s intensive six-week summer course began at the Marine Conservations Center in 1965 at West Meadow Creek. At the same time, the Town of Brookhaven was making plans to carve out a marina in the wetlands.  Dr. Ernst convinced Mr. Melville to save the wetlands from being developed and Mr. Melville began to purchase parcels of land from individuals.  He then designated the entire 88-acres as a Wetlands Preserve.  Mr. Melville subsequently deeded the preserve to WMHO.    It continues to be one of the most pristine wetlands on Long Island and in fact on the Eastern Seaboard.

The Marine Conservation Center houses two classrooms, a learning lab, microscopes, touch tank and video conferencing equipment.  The on-site program allows students to explore the salt marsh ecosystem and learn the importance of salt marshes and food web interactions.  The hands-on program enables students to identify plants, animals, shells, rocks and marsh grasses.

Realizing how important it is for students all across the country to learn about a salt marsh, WMHO developed a distance learning program “Electronic Explorations – The Salt Marsh Ecosystem.”  Wearing a specially equipped pair of eyeglasses the naturalist teaches right from the water’s edge. Now, students from all over the United States, who may never have the opportunity to see a salt marsh, can explore the plants and animals native to a salt marsh, see live specimens, and converse with the naturalist in real time.  WMHO won an International Award for this unique program.

Avalon Park & Preserve

Avalon Park & Preserve

Located across the street from the Stony Brook Grist Mill, Avalon Park & Preserve is a privately owned nature preserve with the mission of maintaining a beautiful landscape in which visitors can enjoy nature. The park and preserve are open daily from dusk to dawn and is free to visitors.

Consisting of over 70 acres of hiking paths, fields and forest, Avalon Park & Preserve invites visitors to tour five distinct natural habitats populated entirely by native flora. Trail maps for the area are available in the kiosk at the park entrance on Harbor Road and also contain more information on the park. You can also visit the Avalon Park & Preserve website for more information and details.

Directions

Discovery Cruise

Discovery Cruise

Across Dock Road from the Three Village Inn, The Ward Melville Heritage Organization’s pontoon boat “Discovery” departs from the Stony Brook Yacht Club marina. The 27-passenger vessel cruises through the organization’s 88-acre wetlands preserve for a 1 1/2 hour tour. A naturalist from the Stony Brook University Marine Sciences Center is onboard to describe the wildlife and flora you’ll see.

2015 Cruise Brochure

Cruises are scheduled according to the tide table from May through October.  Get a taste of what the cruise is like by watching this award-winning story from MyLITV!

To schedule a cruise or for additional information, call 631-751-2244.  Our business hours are Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, so reservations made over the weekend will most likely be confirmed on Monday.

Please note: that the Discovery can not accommodate wheelchairs or walkers. We apologize for the inconvenience.

The Hawkins-Mount House, c. 1725

The Hawkins-Mount House, c. 1725

In the late 18th century, Jonas Hawkins used the house as a store and tavern. During the Revolutionary War, Jonas Hawkins was a messenger for the Culper Spy Ring.

 

The Brewster House, c. 1665

The Brewster House, c. 1665

The Brewster House of Setauket has a history which dates back to 1665. The quaint saltbox farmhouse, which sits on a knoll on Route 25A alongside Setauket Harbor, was home to six generations of Brewsters.

One of the homeowners was Joseph Brewster, who was born in 1735 and served as a lieutenant in the French and Indian War and later became a trustee and justice of the Town of Brookhaven. During the Revolutionary War, he served on the Committee of Safety and also entertained British troops who were stationed in the area at a tavern he opened in the house. Over the years, it appears that Joseph built a sizable estate, and in 1781, he loaned 300 pounds to the Continental Congress. After the war, he was given 750 acres by the newly-formed American government. Joseph also served on the committee that built Route 25A, formerly The King’s Highway, and now known as Washington’s Spy Trail.

Directions

The Thompson House, c. 1709

The Thompson House, c. 1709

The Thompson House stands nestled among trees on one of Setauket’s country roads, reflecting the heritage of the community and its people. Built in 1709, this charming saltbox was the foundation of Thompson family life for generations.
A very interesting account of the life in this house is available in the shape of Doctor Samuel Thompson’s (1738-1811) Journal or diary where we learn of his work as a farmer and doctor to his neighbors as he prescribed herbs, antimonial purges, and whiskey to treat his patients.
Doctor Thompson’s activities were not confined to the farm or medicine, though, as he was also a member of the Long Island Militia during the War for Independence and served on the Committee of Safety of the Town of Brookhaven, a shadow government at the start of the American Revolution. It was during this time that he made surveys of the Setauket and Stony Brook Harbors to determine safe routes that could be used by arriving support troops should the necks of the harbors fall to the British.

After the Battle of Long Island in 1776, the militia disbanded with of its members, including Thompson, relocating across Long Island Sound to Connecticut. According to historians, it is probable that he saw service there, but there is no definite proof of this (Historical Miscellanies Relating to Long Island). Later, Thompson would again return to Long Island during the war where “his standing as a physician probably absolved him from molestation on the part of the enemy.” Doctor Thompson would later be given 1000 acres by the newly-formed government following the American victory in the war.

Stony Brook Grist Mill, c.1751

Stony Brook Grist Mill, c.1751

The Stony Brook Grist Mill was built in 1699 by Adam Smith, son of Richard “Bull” Smith. When the original mill and dam washed out in 1751, a new mill was erected on the present site using beams from the original 17th century structure. During the Revolutionary War, grains ground at the Stony Brook Grist Mill were taken by the British to feed their soldiers.

The Stony Brook Grist Mill was acquired by philanthropist Ward Melville in 1947. He subsequently deeded it to the Ward Melville Heritage Organization which now owns and operates the mill.

The mill is located on Harbor Road off Main Street in Stony Brook and is Long Island’s most fully equipped grist mill. It is open to the public on weekends from April to October, noon-4:30 p.m. Call 631-751-2244 for more information or if you are interested in booking a private group tour.

Directions

Stony Brook Village Center

Stony Brook Village Center

Main Street on the Harbor.  Specialty shops in a Colonial setting. The mechanical eagle atop the post office flaps its wings on the hour. Enjoy 35 shops and 7 restaurants. For details call 631-751-2244.

Directions

Finnegan’s

Finnegan’s

Finnegan’s Restaurant & Tap Room is the oldest continuous operating bar in Huntington. Offering traditional pub fare and charm and service that hasn’t changed since we were established in 1912.

631-423-9696

Directions

 

Long Island Convention & Visitors Bureau & Sports Commission

Discover Long Island NY - Long Island's North Shore - Suffolk County

 

Member Registration - New Member Directory

 

 

Web Design & Development

by Rita D. Robinette - Foresite Consulting, LLC, Web Design-SEO-Social Networking