The Heckscher Museum of Art

The Heckscher Museum of Art

The Heckscher Museum of Art is located in scenic Heckscher Park in Huntington, New York, within walking distance of downtown shops and award-winning restaurants. The Museum provides a dynamic schedule of changing exhibitions on American art. Additionally, public programs for adults, families, and children, include First Friday concert series, gallery talks, and workshops. Information about current exhibits and a schedule of programs are available at www.heckscher.org or (631) 351- 3250.

Museum Hours:

Wednesday- Friday 10:00 am to 5:00 pm

Saturday and Sunday 11:00 am to 5:00 pm

Directions

 

Staller Center for the Arts

Staller Center for the Arts

Staller Center for the Arts presents music, dance, theatre, film, visual art and more as one of the most comprehensive arts centers on Long Island. Enjoy professional performances from September to May and the Stony Brook Film Festival in July.
Box office is open Mon-Sat, 12 noon to 6 pm. Order tickets online at www.stallercenter.com or call 631-632-ARTS [2787].

Directions

Cold Spring Harbor Fish Hatchery & Aquarium

Cold Spring Harbor Fish Hatchery & Aquarium

Nassau/Suffolk border at Rtes. 25A & 108. Environmental education center and demonstration hatchery. Open daily year-round, 10 a.m.-5 p.m. Closed Thanksgiving, Christmas Day and Easter Sunday. Two buildings with tanks and aquariums, eight outdoor tanks. Largest collection of native freshwater fish, turtles and amphibians in the state. Fee. (516-692-6768)

After almost a hundred years as a trout hatchery, the Cold Spring Fish Hatchery and Aquarium now operates as a non-profit education center.

Directions

Long Island Museum of American Art, History & Carriages

Long Island Museum of American Art, History & Carriages

The Museum is known for its collection of over 200 carriages and its extensive collection of work by the Hudson River School painter William Sidney Mount and over 4000 other paintings, sculptures and prints. It became a Smithsonian affiliate in 2006.  Main Street at Route 25A. Nine-acre, three-museum complex includes carriage collection, changing art/ history exhibitions. Open year-round, Fri. & Sat., 10 a.m.-5 p.m., and Sun., noon-5 p.m. Open Memorial Day, Labor Day and Columbus Day, 10 a.m. – 5 p.m. Fee. 631-751-0066

Directions

Oheka Castle Historic Hotel

Oheka Castle Historic Hotel

This magnificent Gold Coast Mansion, resting majestically on the highest point of Long Island, emanates the elegant refinement of a chateaux in France coupled with world-class service and a rich history that is distinctly American. OHEKA has been celebrating the art of entertaining since 1919, when financier and patron of the arts, Otto Hermann Kahn, commissioned celebrated architects, Delano and Aldrich, to design his palatial country residence to accommodate Kahn’s fondness to host lavish parties.

Today, OHEKA is recognized as one of the most prestigious wedding and event venues and Historic Hotels of the World.  The Castle boasts 32 luxurious guestrooms and suites situated on the upper floors of the estate, where guests can sleep like royalty-.  Golf privileges for hotel guests on a private members only course originally designed by renowned golf architect Seth Raynor and later redesigned by Robert Trent Jones: Historic Mansion Tours of the Estate and Gardens; and the newly opened OHEKA Bar & Restaurant offering patrons a unique culinary experience with beautiful views of the manicured Formal Gardens, designed by prominent landscape architects, The Olmsted Brothers.

OHEKA CASTLE is listed on the coveted National Register of Historic Places and is devoted to establishing an experience where guests can appreciate historic architecture, wine and dine in European ambiance, relax in a guestroom, stroll the Formal Gardens, or celebrate lavishly as Otto Kahn once did during the decadent era of the Roaring Twenties.  631- 659-1400

Directions

Three Village Inn

Three Village Inn

A fine country inn with luxury rooms and suites located in Stony Brook Village.

Known as the Old Homestead, the original structure of Mirabelle at Three Village Inn was built in 1751 by Richard Hallock.

In 1835, Jonas Smith, one of the country’s most prominent ship owners, purchased Hallock Homestead for use as a summer house. After his death in 1867 the house had a series of owners until 1929 when Mrs. Frank Melville purchased and renovated it for use as a Women’s Exchange.

As people visited the area, she started serving tea, sandwiches, and refreshments. What began as a simple tea room in the 1930’s became a large restaurant with rooms to accommodate overnight guests in 1939. A fine country inn was born, the Three Village Inn.  631-751-0555

Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook

Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook

The Holiday Inn Express features 143 guest rooms, including two- and three-room oversized suites.  3131Nesconset Hwy., Centereach  631-471-8000

Directions

Suffolk County Vanderbilt Museum and Planetarium

Suffolk County Vanderbilt Museum and Planetarium

The spectacular Spanish-Revival mansion and museum of William K. Vanderbilt II in Centerport, New York, is one of the few remaining estates on the legendary North Shore of Long Island. The mansion, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is a time machine to a rare and privilged way of life along Long Island’s Gold Coast, once held the largest concentration of wealth and power in the United States.

Now the Suffolk County Vanderbilt Museum and Planetarium, the 43-acre estate is a popular historic, cultural and scientific destination for regional visitors. The newly renovated, state-of-the-art Planetarium–with an advanced Konica Minolta projection system, full-dome video ad surround-sound offers visitors a thrilled immersive experience that takes them to the outer reaches of the Solar System.

The Vanderbilt includes a Marine Museum, wild-animal habitats and dioramas, and galleries with collections galleries of natural-history specimens and ethnographic aritfacts from Africa, Asia and the South Pacific.   631-854-5579

Directions

The Ward Melville Heritage Organization Education & Cultural Center

The Ward Melville Heritage Organization Education & Cultural Center

Located in the historic Stony Brook Village Center, The Ward Melville Heritage Organization’s 8800 square-foot Educational and Cultural Center is a year-round facility providing activities, theatrical performances and exhibits. Available for rental. For detailed information call 631-689-5888 

View Upcoming Events

Directions

Hercules Pavillion

Hercules Pavillion

Across Dock Road to the west of the Three Village Inn, along side Stony Brook Harbor, the Hercules Pavilion houses the figurehead and anchor from the U.S.S. Ohio, the first ship launched from the Brooklyn Navy Yard in 1820. The figurehead was carved from a single piece of cedar at a cost of $1,500.

Following the ship’s retirement, it was first sold at a military surplus auction for $10 to the Aldrich family of Aquebogue; then to Miles Carpenter, owner of the Canoe Place Inn in Hampton Bays for $15. Hercules remained at that site for decades. Subsequently the figurehead was acquired by Mr. Melville who deeded it to The Ward Melville Heritage Organization.

Sharing the Hercules Pavilion is the Polaris whaleboat, thought to be the only surviving artifact from the Charles Hall expedition to the Arctic in 1870. Commander Robert Peary recovered the Polaris during his 1905 Arctic expedition and subsequently placed it with the American Museum of Natural History in New York. Some forty years later, naturalist Robert Cushman Murphy who was then a curator at the museum, was instrumental in transferring the Polaris to Ward Melville. It is now a property of The Ward Melville Heritage Organization.

Directions

Erwin J. Ernst Marine Conservation Center

Erwin J. Ernst Marine Conservation Center

Located in the heart of The Ward Melville Heritage Organization’s 88-acre wetlands preserve is the Erwin J. Ernst Marine Conservation Center (EMCC).  Named after Dr. Erwin J. Ernst, the Center has been an important part of WMHO for more than 50 years.

Throughout his career, Dr. Ernst worked to preserve marine life and the environment. His passion was contagious as he taught thousands of students at Southampton College, the New York Aquarium, Ward Melville High School and on-site at WMHO’s Wetlands Preserve.  In fact, many of Ernie’s students changed their career path and went on to careers in marine biology and environmental science.

Dr. Ernst’s intensive six-week summer course began at the Marine Conservations Center in 1965 at West Meadow Creek. At the same time, the Town of Brookhaven was making plans to carve out a marina in the wetlands.  Dr. Ernst convinced Mr. Melville to save the wetlands from being developed and Mr. Melville began to purchase parcels of land from individuals.  He then designated the entire 88-acres as a Wetlands Preserve.  Mr. Melville subsequently deeded the preserve to WMHO.    It continues to be one of the most pristine wetlands on Long Island and in fact on the Eastern Seaboard.

The Marine Conservation Center houses two classrooms, a learning lab, microscopes, touch tank and video conferencing equipment.  The on-site program allows students to explore the salt marsh ecosystem and learn the importance of salt marshes and food web interactions.  The hands-on program enables students to identify plants, animals, shells, rocks and marsh grasses.

Realizing how important it is for students all across the country to learn about a salt marsh, WMHO developed a distance learning program “Electronic Explorations – The Salt Marsh Ecosystem.”  Wearing a specially equipped pair of eyeglasses the naturalist teaches right from the water’s edge. Now, students from all over the United States, who may never have the opportunity to see a salt marsh, can explore the plants and animals native to a salt marsh, see live specimens, and converse with the naturalist in real time.  WMHO won an International Award for this unique program.

Avalon Park & Preserve

Avalon Park & Preserve

Located across the street from the Stony Brook Grist Mill, Avalon Park & Preserve is a privately owned nature preserve with the mission of maintaining a beautiful landscape in which visitors can enjoy nature. The park and preserve are open daily from dusk to dawn and is free to visitors.

Consisting of over 70 acres of hiking paths, fields and forest, Avalon Park & Preserve invites visitors to tour five distinct natural habitats populated entirely by native flora. Trail maps for the area are available in the kiosk at the park entrance on Harbor Road and also contain more information on the park. You can also visit the Avalon Park & Preserve website for more information and details.

Directions

Discovery Cruise

Discovery Cruise

Across Dock Road from the Three Village Inn, The Ward Melville Heritage Organization’s pontoon boat “Discovery” departs from the Stony Brook Yacht Club marina. The 27-passenger vessel cruises through the organization’s 88-acre wetlands preserve for a 1 1/2 hour tour. A naturalist from the Stony Brook University Marine Sciences Center is onboard to describe the wildlife and flora you’ll see.

2015 Cruise Brochure

Cruises are scheduled according to the tide table from May through October.  Get a taste of what the cruise is like by watching this award-winning story from MyLITV!

To schedule a cruise or for additional information, call 631-751-2244.  Our business hours are Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, so reservations made over the weekend will most likely be confirmed on Monday.

Please note: that the Discovery can not accommodate wheelchairs or walkers. We apologize for the inconvenience.

The Hawkins-Mount House, c. 1725

The Hawkins-Mount House, c. 1725

In the late 18th century, Jonas Hawkins used the house as a store and tavern. During the Revolutionary War, Jonas Hawkins was a messenger for the Culper Spy Ring.

 

The Brewster House, c. 1665

The Brewster House, c. 1665

The Brewster House of Setauket has a history which dates back to 1665. The quaint saltbox farmhouse, which sits on a knoll on Route 25A alongside Setauket Harbor, was home to six generations of Brewsters.

One of the homeowners was Joseph Brewster, who was born in 1735 and served as a lieutenant in the French and Indian War and later became a trustee and justice of the Town of Brookhaven. During the Revolutionary War, he served on the Committee of Safety and also entertained British troops who were stationed in the area at a tavern he opened in the house. Over the years, it appears that Joseph built a sizable estate, and in 1781, he loaned 300 pounds to the Continental Congress. After the war, he was given 750 acres by the newly-formed American government. Joseph also served on the committee that built Route 25A, formerly The King’s Highway, and now known as Washington’s Spy Trail.

Directions

The Thompson House, c. 1709

The Thompson House, c. 1709

The Thompson House stands nestled among trees on one of Setauket’s country roads, reflecting the heritage of the community and its people. Built in 1709, this charming saltbox was the foundation of Thompson family life for generations.
A very interesting account of the life in this house is available in the shape of Doctor Samuel Thompson’s (1738-1811) Journal or diary where we learn of his work as a farmer and doctor to his neighbors as he prescribed herbs, antimonial purges, and whiskey to treat his patients.
Doctor Thompson’s activities were not confined to the farm or medicine, though, as he was also a member of the Long Island Militia during the War for Independence and served on the Committee of Safety of the Town of Brookhaven, a shadow government at the start of the American Revolution. It was during this time that he made surveys of the Setauket and Stony Brook Harbors to determine safe routes that could be used by arriving support troops should the necks of the harbors fall to the British.

After the Battle of Long Island in 1776, the militia disbanded with of its members, including Thompson, relocating across Long Island Sound to Connecticut. According to historians, it is probable that he saw service there, but there is no definite proof of this (Historical Miscellanies Relating to Long Island). Later, Thompson would again return to Long Island during the war where “his standing as a physician probably absolved him from molestation on the part of the enemy.” Doctor Thompson would later be given 1000 acres by the newly-formed government following the American victory in the war.

Stony Brook Grist Mill, c.1751

Stony Brook Grist Mill, c.1751

The Stony Brook Grist Mill was built in 1699 by Adam Smith, son of Richard “Bull” Smith. When the original mill and dam washed out in 1751, a new mill was erected on the present site using beams from the original 17th century structure. During the Revolutionary War, grains ground at the Stony Brook Grist Mill were taken by the British to feed their soldiers.

The Stony Brook Grist Mill was acquired by philanthropist Ward Melville in 1947. He subsequently deeded it to the Ward Melville Heritage Organization which now owns and operates the mill.

The mill is located on Harbor Road off Main Street in Stony Brook and is Long Island’s most fully equipped grist mill. It is open to the public on weekends from April to October, noon-4:30 p.m. Call 631-751-2244 for more information or if you are interested in booking a private group tour.

Directions

Stony Brook Village Center

Stony Brook Village Center

Main Street on the Harbor.  Specialty shops in a Colonial setting. The mechanical eagle atop the post office flaps its wings on the hour. Enjoy 35 shops and 7 restaurants. For details call 631-751-2244.

Directions

Finnegan’s

Finnegan’s

Finnegan’s Restaurant & Tap Room is the oldest continuous operating bar in Huntington. Offering traditional pub fare and charm and service that hasn’t changed since we were established in 1912.

631-423-9696

Directions

 

Walt Whitman Birthplace State Historic Site

Walt Whitman Birthplace State Historic Site

246 Old Walt Whitman Rd., South Huntington. The home of Walt Whitman, America’s greatest poet, c.1819. Exhibit includes his papers, school master’s desk, recordings of his voice, and more. In 2007, the Walt Whitman Trail, which begins at the birthplace, was designated a National Recreational Trail by the US Dept. of the Interior.

Summer hours: Mon.-Fri., 11 a.m.-4 p.m.; Sat.-Sun, 12-5 p.m.; closed major holidays Winter hours: Wed.-Fri., 1-4 p.m.; Sat.-Sun., 11-4 p.m.; closed major holidays. Fee. 631-427-5240

Directions

Old Westbury Gardens

Old Westbury Gardens

Old Westbury Road. The Gardens’ 160 acres include the Walled Perennial Garden, the Boxwood Gardens, the formal Rose Garden, Cottage Garden and demonstration gardens, as well as sweeping lawns, over 100 species of trees, rolling fields and wildlife. The Westbury House mansion, virtually unchanged from the time of the Phipps residence, still contains the family’s collection, furnishings and fine arts.

Open April-October, Wed.-Mon., 10 a.m.- 5 p.m., and for special events in November and December. Guided tours are available. Fee. 516-333-0048

Directions

 

Sagamore Hill National Historic Site

Sagamore Hill National Historic Site

Theodore Roosevelt’s Home, a National Historic Site

Sagamore Hill was the home of Theodore Roosevelt, 26th President of the United States, from 1885 until his death in 1919. During Roosevelt’s time in office, his “Summer White House” was the focus of international attention. Otherwise, it was the home of a most remarkable fellow and his interesting family.

Cove Neck Rd. 23-room Victorian residence was Theodore Roosevelt’s “Summer White House” from 1901-1909 and the grounds also feature the Old Orchard Museum, former home of General Theodore Roosevelt, Jr. Open year-round, Sept.-May, Wed.-Sun. 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; Memorial Day-Sept., every day. Fee. 631-922-4788

The Visitor Center and Bookstore is open Wednesday-Sunday from 9am to 5pm. Check in at the Visitor Center upon arrival to purchase tour tickets. Fee  (15 years or younger free; valid Federal passes honored).  631-922-4788

The Roosevelt Museum at Old Orchard is open Wednesday-Sunday from 10am to 5pm. Admission to the building is free, and visitors can view movies and exhibits at their own pace.

The Park grounds are open every day from sunrise to sunset.

Sagamore Hill will be closed select days including Thanksgiving Day; Christmas Day (December 25) and New Year’s Day (January 1).

Directions

Nathan Hale Monument

Nathan Hale Monument

During the Revolutionary War American forces suffered a humiliating defeat at the Battle of Long Island. George Washington and his army had to escape from the battle to Manhattan at night under cover of fog. The British army meanwhile took control of Long Island and Huntington. They remained here for the duration of the war.

During this occupation Nathan Hale volunteered to gather intelligence on the British forces in New York. He began his mission on the shores of Huntington Bay. He was later captured—it is unclear where, perhaps in Huntington or perhaps closer to the city—and hanged in New York City.

The Nathan Hale Monument honors his sacrifice.

Directions

Nissequogue River State Park

Nissequogue River State Park

The former estate of a psychiatric center, the Park ‘s terrain suits bicycles and horses as well as it does shoes and feet, and everyone can trek for hours without encountering another human.  The Park also has a soccer field, a canoe and kayak launch, fishing, bird watching, interpretive signs, guided tours and group tours by reservation.  St. Johnland Road, Kings Park. 153-acres/National Audubon Society Important Bird Area/hiking, fishing and canoeing. (631) 269-4927

Gov. Alfred E. Smith Sunken Meadow State Park

Gov. Alfred E. Smith Sunken Meadow State Park

Located on Long Island Sound, the Park has a wide range of topography that sustains a variety of flora and fauna. The three miles of beach meets tall, glacier-formed bluffs at the west end of the shoreline. A man-made dam separates the park’s brackish creek and marshes from the tidal flats. South of the flats are acres of undeveloped and heavily-wooded rolling hills. Rte. 25A, Kings Park. 1,266-acres with golf, boardwalk and L.I. Sound beach. (631) 269-4333

Caleb Smith State Park Preserve

Caleb Smith State Park Preserve

Nestled in the heart of Smithtown, Caleb State Park Preserve is only one of two nature preserves on Long Island. Much of the Preserve’s 543 acres are undeveloped, allowing visitors to explore its many different habitats including freshwater wetlands, ponds, streams, fields and upland woods. Jericho Turnpike/Route 25, Smithtown. 543 acres/nature walks, hiking, fly fishing. (631) 265-1054

Caumsett State Historic Park

Caumsett State Historic Park

Lloyd Neck. 1,500 acres with bridle path, salt water fishing, hiking, cross country skiing. 631-423-1770

Originally purchased in 1921 by Marshall Field III, it became one of the largest estates of the Gold Coast Mansions.  The estate was  purchased by the State of NY in 1961 and designated a state park.

Directions

Planting Fields Arboretum State Historic Park

Planting Fields Arboretum State Historic Park

A former Gold Coast estate, the arboretum is comprised of acres of greenhouses, rolling lawns, formal gardens, woodland paths, and outstanding plant collections. The original historic estate buildings remain including the 65 room Tudor Revival mansion, Coe Hall, which is open for tours spring through fall. The grounds, landscaped by the Olmsted Brothers of Brookline, Massachusetts, are spectacularly beautiful year round.   Planting Fields Road. Open daily, 9 a.m.-5 p.m.   Fee. 526-922-9200

Directions

Sands Point Preserve

Sands Point Preserve

An early 1900s estate with two castles, six hiking trails, changing natural history exhibits, and a Wedgwood collection. Open Feb.-Sept., Wed.-Sun., 10 a.m.-5 p.m. Fee. Falaise, the former home of Harry Guggenheim, is open for tours from May-October, Wed.-Sun. Fee. (516) 571-7900

Welwyn Nature Preserve

Welwyn Nature Preserve

A sprawling 204-acre preserve located at Crescent Beach and New Woods Roads, Welwyn is the former estate of Harold Irving Pratt, heir to an oil fortune. The densely wooded preserve has four marked nature trails that provide access to a magnificent wooded stream valley, fresh water ponds and swamps, a coastal salt marsh, and a stretch of Long Island Sound shoreline. More than 100 species of birds and a variety of small native mammals, reptiles and amphibians inhabit the preserve’s grounds. The preserve also plays host to the Holocaust Memorial & Educational Center, which offers exhibits and other educational programs. 531-572-0200

Cresent Beach Rd. Over 200 acres of nature trails.
Open daily, 9:30-4:30 p.m.

Directions

Communities Along the Heritage Trail

Great Neck NY
Manhasset / Port Washington NY
Roslyn / Old Westbury / Brookville NY
Glen Cove / Sea Cliff NY
Oyster Bay / Bayville / Locust Valley NY
Cold Spring Harbor NY
Huntington NY
Centerport / Northport NY
Smithtown / St. James / Kings Park NY
Stony Brook / Setauket NY
Port Jefferson NY




Web Design & Development

by Rita D. Robinette - Foresite Consulting, LLC, Web Design-SEO-Social Networking