Oheka Castle Historic Hotel

Oheka Castle Historic Hotel

This magnificent Gold Coast Mansion, resting majestically on the highest point of Long Island, emanates the elegant refinement of a chateaux in France coupled with world-class service and a rich history that is distinctly American. OHEKA has been celebrating the art of entertaining since 1919, when financier and patron of the arts, Otto Hermann Kahn, commissioned celebrated architects, Delano and Aldrich, to design his palatial country residence to accommodate Kahn’s fondness to host lavish parties.

Today, OHEKA is recognized as one of the most prestigious wedding and event venues and Historic Hotels of the World.  The Castle boasts 32 luxurious guestrooms and suites situated on the upper floors of the estate, where guests can sleep like royalty-.  Golf privileges for hotel guests on a private members only course originally designed by renowned golf architect Seth Raynor and later redesigned by Robert Trent Jones: Historic Mansion Tours of the Estate and Gardens; and the newly opened OHEKA Bar & Restaurant offering patrons a unique culinary experience with beautiful views of the manicured Formal Gardens, designed by prominent landscape architects, The Olmsted Brothers.

OHEKA CASTLE is listed on the coveted National Register of Historic Places and is devoted to establishing an experience where guests can appreciate historic architecture, wine and dine in European ambiance, relax in a guestroom, stroll the Formal Gardens, or celebrate lavishly as Otto Kahn once did during the decadent era of the Roaring Twenties.  631- 659-1400

Directions

Suffolk County Vanderbilt Museum and Planetarium

Suffolk County Vanderbilt Museum and Planetarium

The spectacular Spanish-Revival mansion and museum of William K. Vanderbilt II in Centerport, New York, is one of the few remaining estates on the legendary North Shore of Long Island. The mansion, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is a time machine to a rare and privilged way of life along Long Island’s Gold Coast, once held the largest concentration of wealth and power in the United States.

Now the Suffolk County Vanderbilt Museum and Planetarium, the 43-acre estate is a popular historic, cultural and scientific destination for regional visitors. The newly renovated, state-of-the-art Planetarium–with an advanced Konica Minolta projection system, full-dome video ad surround-sound offers visitors a thrilled immersive experience that takes them to the outer reaches of the Solar System.

The Vanderbilt includes a Marine Museum, wild-animal habitats and dioramas, and galleries with collections galleries of natural-history specimens and ethnographic aritfacts from Africa, Asia and the South Pacific.   631-854-5579

Directions

The Hawkins-Mount House, c. 1725

The Hawkins-Mount House, c. 1725

In the late 18th century, Jonas Hawkins used the house as a store and tavern. During the Revolutionary War, Jonas Hawkins was a messenger for the Culper Spy Ring.

 

The Brewster House, c. 1665

The Brewster House, c. 1665

The Brewster House of Setauket has a history which dates back to 1665. The quaint saltbox farmhouse, which sits on a knoll on Route 25A alongside Setauket Harbor, was home to six generations of Brewsters.

One of the homeowners was Joseph Brewster, who was born in 1735 and served as a lieutenant in the French and Indian War and later became a trustee and justice of the Town of Brookhaven. During the Revolutionary War, he served on the Committee of Safety and also entertained British troops who were stationed in the area at a tavern he opened in the house. Over the years, it appears that Joseph built a sizable estate, and in 1781, he loaned 300 pounds to the Continental Congress. After the war, he was given 750 acres by the newly-formed American government. Joseph also served on the committee that built Route 25A, formerly The King’s Highway, and now known as Washington’s Spy Trail.

Directions

The Thompson House, c. 1709

The Thompson House, c. 1709

The Thompson House stands nestled among trees on one of Setauket’s country roads, reflecting the heritage of the community and its people. Built in 1709, this charming saltbox was the foundation of Thompson family life for generations.
A very interesting account of the life in this house is available in the shape of Doctor Samuel Thompson’s (1738-1811) Journal or diary where we learn of his work as a farmer and doctor to his neighbors as he prescribed herbs, antimonial purges, and whiskey to treat his patients.
Doctor Thompson’s activities were not confined to the farm or medicine, though, as he was also a member of the Long Island Militia during the War for Independence and served on the Committee of Safety of the Town of Brookhaven, a shadow government at the start of the American Revolution. It was during this time that he made surveys of the Setauket and Stony Brook Harbors to determine safe routes that could be used by arriving support troops should the necks of the harbors fall to the British.

After the Battle of Long Island in 1776, the militia disbanded with of its members, including Thompson, relocating across Long Island Sound to Connecticut. According to historians, it is probable that he saw service there, but there is no definite proof of this (Historical Miscellanies Relating to Long Island). Later, Thompson would again return to Long Island during the war where “his standing as a physician probably absolved him from molestation on the part of the enemy.” Doctor Thompson would later be given 1000 acres by the newly-formed government following the American victory in the war.

Stony Brook Grist Mill, c.1751

Stony Brook Grist Mill, c.1751

The Stony Brook Grist Mill was built in 1699 by Adam Smith, son of Richard “Bull” Smith. When the original mill and dam washed out in 1751, a new mill was erected on the present site using beams from the original 17th century structure. During the Revolutionary War, grains ground at the Stony Brook Grist Mill were taken by the British to feed their soldiers.

The Stony Brook Grist Mill was acquired by philanthropist Ward Melville in 1947. He subsequently deeded it to the Ward Melville Heritage Organization which now owns and operates the mill.

The mill is located on Harbor Road off Main Street in Stony Brook and is Long Island’s most fully equipped grist mill. It is open to the public on weekends from April to October, noon-4:30 p.m. Call 631-751-2244 for more information or if you are interested in booking a private group tour.

Directions

Walt Whitman Birthplace State Historic Site

Walt Whitman Birthplace State Historic Site

246 Old Walt Whitman Rd., South Huntington. The home of Walt Whitman, America’s greatest poet, c.1819. Exhibit includes his papers, school master’s desk, recordings of his voice, and more. In 2007, the Walt Whitman Trail, which begins at the birthplace, was designated a National Recreational Trail by the US Dept. of the Interior.

Summer hours: Mon.-Fri., 11 a.m.-4 p.m.; Sat.-Sun, 12-5 p.m.; closed major holidays Winter hours: Wed.-Fri., 1-4 p.m.; Sat.-Sun., 11-4 p.m.; closed major holidays. Fee. 631-427-5240

Directions

Sagamore Hill National Historic Site

Sagamore Hill National Historic Site

Theodore Roosevelt’s Home, a National Historic Site

Sagamore Hill was the home of Theodore Roosevelt, 26th President of the United States, from 1885 until his death in 1919. During Roosevelt’s time in office, his “Summer White House” was the focus of international attention. Otherwise, it was the home of a most remarkable fellow and his interesting family.

Cove Neck Rd. 23-room Victorian residence was Theodore Roosevelt’s “Summer White House” from 1901-1909 and the grounds also feature the Old Orchard Museum, former home of General Theodore Roosevelt, Jr. Open year-round, Sept.-May, Wed.-Sun. 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; Memorial Day-Sept., every day. Fee. 631-922-4788

The Visitor Center and Bookstore is open Wednesday-Sunday from 9am to 5pm. Check in at the Visitor Center upon arrival to purchase tour tickets. Fee  (15 years or younger free; valid Federal passes honored).  631-922-4788

The Roosevelt Museum at Old Orchard is open Wednesday-Sunday from 10am to 5pm. Admission to the building is free, and visitors can view movies and exhibits at their own pace.

The Park grounds are open every day from sunrise to sunset.

Sagamore Hill will be closed select days including Thanksgiving Day; Christmas Day (December 25) and New Year’s Day (January 1).

Directions

Planting Fields Arboretum State Historic Park

Planting Fields Arboretum State Historic Park

A former Gold Coast estate, the arboretum is comprised of acres of greenhouses, rolling lawns, formal gardens, woodland paths, and outstanding plant collections. The original historic estate buildings remain including the 65 room Tudor Revival mansion, Coe Hall, which is open for tours spring through fall. The grounds, landscaped by the Olmsted Brothers of Brookline, Massachusetts, are spectacularly beautiful year round.   Planting Fields Road. Open daily, 9 a.m.-5 p.m.   Fee. 526-922-9200

Directions

Long Island Convention & Visitors Bureau & Sports Commission

Discover Long Island NY - Long Island's North Shore - Suffolk County

 

Member Registration - New Member Directory

 

 

Web Design & Development

by Rita D. Robinette - Foresite Consulting, LLC, Web Design-SEO-Social Networking